2pm Update…

I just spent the morning at the hospital and I wish that I could convey with words how amazingly, miraculously well Jessie is doing given the circumstances.  She is very aware of everything that is going on and is handling this with the gracefulness that defined her beautiful parents.  The first thing she said to me after telling me she loved me, was to ask me how I am doing and if I am okay.  Her biggest concern right now is that everyone else is doing fine and that they aren’t too worried about her.  She thanks every doctor or nurse who comes into her room, but she’s also not afraid to give them a little bit of Jessie sass 🙂  Perfectly Jess in every way!

Jaime and Steven have very similar injuries to one another, and those injuries are still being continually assessed. Their conditions are still stable and we are confident that they will continue to make good progress and that they are in great hands with the team at Harborview.

Please continue to pray for the family, and send them your well-wishes.  It will still be quite some time before any visitors will be allowed, and we appreciate you continuing to give the family, friends and hospital staff at the center of this the space they need to care for Jess, Jaime, Jer and Steven.  We would like to ask that you keep any comments or cards directed towards them positive and upbeat (rather than sending condolences), as their focus right now is fighting to get well.  We will never stop thanking you for all of the support you are sending our way.  We know it might feel like you aren’t doing much, but your genuine love, care, concern, encouragement and celebration of these kids’ lives is exactly what we all need right now.  As you spend time with your family and friends over the next couple of days, give them an extra long hug and let them really, really know how much you love them.  Christmas is a reminder that God sent his Son to the world as a gift of hope. Our hopes are high right now, and we have much to be grateful for.

13 thoughts on “2pm Update…

  1. Thank you for the continued updates and for the advice so we don’t, with the best of intentions, complicate things. The news about all the kids is good, particularly Jess and we know in our hearts that Jamie and Steve will get stronger and push through this. How is Jeremy? In a prior blog you noted that he was staying with a friend? Our thoughts go out to him as well. It seems odd to say under the circumstances but Merry Chirstmas to all of you. Know that we are all sending best wishes.

  2. Thank you for all the updates. I haven’t spoken with Jessie since high school but I have always known her spirit to be beautiful, spunky and loving. Many MANY prayers from the Hedglin/Wallulis family. May you rely on the AWESOME strength of our Lord.

  3. That is so great to hear that Jessie is being Jessie through all of this. Continued prayers from the Jefferson family!

    Love ya!

  4. Thank you for letting us know how to direct our comments to be most useful to the kids. Keep up the hard work – all of you. The kids, doctors, nurses, and those who are caring for the kids. Positive thoughts, energy and prayers being sent your way. May you all feel the holiday spirit, even if just a bit. Thanks for the continued updates. There are a ton of prayer warriors out there for you all xoxo Lisa

  5. “Those who have a ‘why’ can endure almost any ‘how” – Neitzsche

    25,000 views in two days is one pretty good ‘why.’ Sending prayers, positve thoughts, and energy for Jeremy, Jesse, Jaime, and Steven and all those that are looking after them and loving them. Please give Jeremy a hug from me and Michelle.

  6. Jessie! You’ve come so far! Keep fighting, girl!! Erin and Ryan get here on Wednesday and they send all their love and hugs!!

  7. Ms. Owen, I would like to let you know that I am thinking of you, and that my heart goes out to you and your loved ones in light of this tragedy. I am praying that you will make a full recovery, both physically and emotionally, and I believe that you can do so. If there is any way my family can help, or anything we can do, we would love to be able to help you and your family. (I will do my best on my homework for you! 😉 ) Love, Cassidy

  8. Jessie I am so happy that you are fighting hard. Keep up the good work. You always have been one of the toughest people I know. But also one of the kindest and sweetest person when have ever someone need a friend you where there. You always came with a smile but that kick butt attitude. You keep fighting. Kendra and I are praying for you.

  9. I don’t know Jessie that well since this is my first year teaching at Frank Love Elementary, but from what I have seen, she is strong, outgoing and passionate about teaching. You are all in my thoughts and prayers for healing and strength in the coming days.

  10. Oh Jessie! Ok ok …Go Cougars! That is hard for me to say but I love you and support you 100%. You just stay strong girl! Ohhh I dunno about this. I am a total Husky all the way! But go cougs….(on the low key)……haha

  11. I only just heard the news… Our thoughts and prayers are with all of you. Even though I don’t know any of you personally, you are loved! Best wishes for your recovery and healing,

    The Cornell Family (Brian, Chi, and Ezri Ana)

Leave a Reply

