9pm Update…

Not a lot to share tonight. Jessie had another full day of therapy today. She is definitely making progress, one tiny step at a time. Jaime is still recovering from her surgeries and it is looking like Steven might be able to move out of the ICU and onto a surgical floor soon. We are very hopeful! Jeremy visited his family today, and Jaime was able to visit Jessie in her room as well.

Tomorrow (Friday) marks two weeks since the accident. As we continually say, this is going to be a long road to recovery for these four, but the progress they have made in the past two weeks is mind-blowing. Two weeks ago Jessie, Jaime and Steven were in critical condition, unable to breathe on their own, and they were literally fighting for their lives. Each day we are given little glimmers of hope and each day they make small little victories that will one day add up to one miraculous story of healing. Thank you (once again!) for praying, grieving, celebrating, hoping, cheering and loving Jessie, Jaime, Jeremy and Steven along with us. I’ll be updating from the hospital tomorrow night. Blessings to all of you!

15 thoughts on “9pm Update…

  1. Thank you for sharing Christy. It may not seem like a lot to share but every word you write means mountains to us!! Bless you and yours for keeping us informed. We are here to help, just let us know! I know you will

  2. Thank you for keeping us all updated. It’s frustrating not to be able to help more, but reading about the kids every day is good.

  3. The writing in this blog is amazing and I cannot thank you enough for keeping us up to date. Our son, Kyle, is a friend of Jeremy’s and we have followed the progress from the beginning. As you update this blog, we too can pray for more specific desires. God is good. I have seen miracles in my lifetime, always a reminder that God is right beside us for the journey. I look forward to seeing more of God’s beautiful work. It is a team effort by all!

  4. Jessie, we played club volleyball together ages ago. I have been following your story since the beginning and you and your family have constantly been in my thoughts and prayers.

    I have a former coworker who injured his spinal cord in a mountian biking accident in July of 2009. He has worked diligently since then to make dramatic improvements. He may be a great person to talk to for inspiration.
    here is his current website: http://www.mattnevergivesup.org/
    here is his initial blog (begining with updates from the hospital): http://mattnevergivesup.blogspot.com/

    You and your family will continue to be in my thoughts and prayers, I know you have the strength to overcome the incredible challenges that have been thrown your way.

  5. Christy – these posts mean a great deal to all of us. It must be hard for you to keep up. I want to thank you for your uplifting and positive messages. Your voice keeps these kids in our thoughts, hearts and prayers – God bless

  6. Christy,
    Thank you so much for your daily updates, without these updates I’d feel more helpless than I already do!! They help me to know what to pray for, and how to continue positive thoughts for all the Owen kids. You are a rock for this family!

  7. Christy, I also have been following all the way along. I am a freind and co-worker with Tim from several years back, not sure if the kids even know who I am, other than a babecue at their house probably 6-7 years ago. But like everyone have been devasted at the loss and what the kids are going through. First thing I did was contact a good christian freind of mine who I know has a family of christians in his church who would add them to their prayer chain. Then I’ve just been watching every update and have been so uplifted by the progress of what Jessie and all are going through and how well they seem to be coming along. Jamie and Stephen who I didn’t even know and how strong they all are as they go through this. I was just checking the other comments for the first time and was going to add that we are all so thankful for your continual updates when I see that others had beaten me to it. Thank you and let the kids know they have community behind them, people they don’t even know praying for them.What a statement to Cheryl and Tim for raising such a strong family. I saw Jeremy on the televison saying he would do as his parents would want and be strong. They are all touching many and our prayers are continualy with them.
    May I ask how you came to know the family as I assume you are either a family member or neighbor and want to thank you again for the updates.

    • Jerry,

      Thank you so much for your kind words. I am so honored that I can serve the family and community in this way. My family grew up with the Owens. We were their neighbors starting when Jer was 2. They are our best friends and we have always called Tim and Cheryl our “second parents” and the kids our sisters and brother, and they have done the same with us. They are the best! No surprise at all to see exactly how loved they are!

  8. Hi Jessie Jamie Jeremy & Steven:

    I hope at some point you’ll be able to read this. I want you to know that everyone here at the office is thinking of you kids every day & are always talking about all of you & all of our fond memories of you guys over the years. We are all here for you for the long haul & are so happy to hear of your improvements.

    Melissa Flores

  9. I can’t agree with you more Christy. The progress these kids have made in two weeks is miraculous! We all are praying for many more miracles. Thank you Christy, your family and the community for being there for these kids! We have lots to be proud of! Hugs to all.

  10. Thank you Christy for the blog and for the daily entries. It keeps us updated to everyone’s progress. I want Jessie to know that she is amazing and inspiring for me as I read about her and her determination to beat these injuries. Keep it up!
    Debbie Hogge

  11. Thanks so much for keeping us all posted on your daily blog. You are doing an incredible job. My thoughts and prayers are with all of them, and I hope each day brings a glimmer of good news in their recovery.

Leave a Reply

