9pm Update…

We have received some of the most beautiful, thoughtful, genuine and encouraging comments on this blog over the past two weeks.  Comments that mean the world to not only Jessie, Jaime, Jeremy and Steven, but also to me and everyone else who is caring for these four right now.  Often people ask questions that I don’t have time to answer (or don’t know how to answer), so tonight I want to try to answer as many of them in blog form as I can.  I know that this blog is a lifeline to the kids for many of you.  Tons of people tell us that they check this multiple times a day and I know that many of you rely on this to know how to pray and how to help.  Honestly, this  blog has become much bigger than we imagined, and we realize that there is power in the words we put on this page.  For example…we heard a little rumor that our ploy to get Kenny Chesney to send something to Jessie might have worked 🙂  And, let me tell you – hearing this made Jessie a very happy girl this morning!  I’ll be sure to let you know if this rumor comes to fruition.  We have also had a number of people reach out to the Seahawks (knowing that Jess and Jer are huge fans!) and last night the kids each received a personalized game ball signed by Russell Wilson!  I wish you could have seen the look on Jessie’s face!  Monday Jessie even has a date in her room with two Sounders who are coming to visit her!  Every one of these special visits, gifts, messages from someone they haven’t talked to in years – means soooooo much to each of these kids.  Their days right now are difficult; but moments that make them smile and feel like people know about them and are cheering for them can truly make their entire day.  So, thank you for all of the ways that you are letting them know how loved they are.  Please keep them coming!

Now, to answer some questions….First of all, I know that many of you would like to have more specific information about each of the kids’ injuries and many people have specifically asked about Jessie’s spinal cord injury.  As you can imagine, the injuries are very complex and we have intentionally kept our description of them fairly vague.  At this point in time, Jessie is paralyzed from the shoulders down and has very little use of her arms or legs. That is as much detail as we are able to share. Jessie is determined that this is a temporary state of being, and we believe her when she says that she WILL walk again.  She is very interested in meeting other people who were once told that they may be a quadriplegic  but have since regained their ability to walk and use their arms.  She met with one such person today.  He told her about his battle to learn to walk again after being paralyzed from the neck down, and today he is an extreme skiier.  This gives Jessie hope.  She believes that she can do it, and we believe that she can too.  As we always say, this will be a long journey, but this girl has fight in her and she’s going to fight the whole way to being on her feet again!

Jaime still has a lot of healing to do.  Her legs and pelvis were pretty badly broken in the accident so she is going to have to spend a lot of time letting those bones heal before she can begin to bare weight on them and start intensive rehabilitation therapy.  The same is true of Steven.  Steven still has a feeding tube in, but he has made quite a bit of progress in the past few days and we are all happy with that.

It’s challenging for me to accurately communicate the balance of how encouraged and joyful we are at the progress that these three are making, but still, at the same time, communicate how serious the injuries are that these three are suffering from.  We don’t really have a clear picture of exactly how long each of these three will spend in the hospital recovering, but it’s safe to say that it will be a very long time.  Please know that Jessie and Jaime try to read through some of the messages, cards and comments that you are sending them each day and although they would love to be able to respond to each and every one, they just can’t.  But please keep them coming!  Your words mean so much to them!

I have said it before, but I need to say it again…there is an amazing team of people that is holding this family together right now.  From Aunt Terry and the team of neighbors, dear friends and family members from all over the country that is supporting the kids at the hospital, to the incredible families that have taken care of Jeremy, and the wonderful friends who are making sure that we receive meals when we go home at night – we have all been blessed in the midst of this great trial.  Please continue to keep the Owen-Mayer family in your thoughts and your prayers.  Much love to all of you!

15 thoughts on “9pm Update…

  1. Your updates do indeed help us know how to pray more specifically. PRAYING DAILY!!! Jeremiah 29:11 ~ “For I know the plans I have for you, “declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

  2. Dear Ms. Owen,
    I am always thinking and praying for you and your family. I’m very glad to receive updates on your recovery from this blog. You are a strong, intelligent, brave person; I believe in you!
    Cassidy

  3. Thank you again for these updates on the kids. We think about them every day and are sending prayers for their healing and also prayers for everyone who is caring for them along the way–from the doctors to the neighbors caring for the family pets.
    love,
    Zane, Jody, Jordan and Tessa

  4. Although we don’t know the Owen family, we have been praying each day for their recovery. Christy – I am not working right now and would like to offer to help. Give me a call at 206-719-0997 if I can be of any help. My thoughts and prayers are with the “Bellin” family.
    Susan Gevaart

  5. For the first time in over two weeks, Jessie, Jaime, and Jeremy were in the same room. They chatted about everything and nothing–it was wonderful. Then Jaime got to see Steven (who is not quite able to leave his room yet) for the first time in days. Also wonderful. The love and kind thoughts surrounding “Team Owen-Mayer” are keeping us going–and are so much appreciated. Thank you from the bottom of our hearts.

    • Terry, Thank you for taking the time to share this with us. So wonderful to picture the three sibs together and Jaime and Steven too! The circle of support around Team Owen-Mayer is really very large, and through the blog we get an idea of what you all are going through..Christy has done a wonderful job keeping us posted on the kids’ recovery and the obstacles they are overcoming. We know you have many things on your minds. I’m touched by your thinking of us too. Hugs to each of you.

  6. Christy,
    Thank you again for the great updates. I check the blog at least once (though usually 3 or 4 times) daily and love hearing what progress has been made, and specific prayer requests. All of the Saunders family is praying for the Owen/Mayer family as well as the Bellins.
    Xoxo
    Stef

  7. I watch several times a day for Christy’s updates on the Owen-Mayer family. Yes, many prayers are being lifted up. I finally got around, yesterday, to writing about them on my Facebook page — hoping that I had information correct. I have received words & promises of prayer from so very many & from all over. There is a woman who grew up in the little valley where I spent most of my growing-up years, though I am a Middle Westerner by birth, who promised to pray. There is a distant cousin of my husband Leo who has promised to pray. And there is another girl and her husband who grew up with me who now live in Leavenworth and knew of the terrible accident. They are believers and have been praying since they heard of the accident. It goes on and on. I am trying to connect with friends whom I knew Tim had when he was growing up in our Kingsgate area, but so far haven’t found them. Many thanks to Terry, you, Christy, and the amazing team of medical folks who are caring for these precious young friends. I am trusting and believing that the Lord will bring healing for all of them. How wonderful that 3 of them got to be together in the same room today. I will be in my church tomorrow, and I know that many of my friends there will be asking about the needs of the Owen-Mayer family. Thank you, Christy, for this latest information before I go to bed! Love to you all! Sharon and Leo Pakkala

  8. I am so thankful for you Christy. Every day, multiple times a day I check this. To say that I cannot imagine this situation in my own life does not even begin to explain the heartbreak, love, sadness, joy, pain that I regularly feel for this family. I pray and pray and pray for them. They are always on my heart and mind. Again, there is not a doubt in my mind that Jessie will walk and play and run again as well as Jaime and Steven. The blessings that your amazing, loving family has been for them all and all of us is incredible to say the least. Over and over all I can do is send love and prayers and I will never, ever stop. Love you all. Keep up the amazing fight.

  9. Thank you so much for updating us. You are somehow able to balance reality with positive words, and your updates mean SO MUCH to us! I check this at least once a day and pray for them almost every night. Steven was my ex colleague at London Drugs and he was a wonderful man. Wishing him and his family the very best!! London Drugs team supports them!

  10. Jesse…
    Please know that I am thinking of you and that you are in my daily prayers. I have always been touched by your love of life, desire for excellence, determination to live life to the fullest, your beautiful smiling face etc. I know that kind of hope and determination will be the power that will give you the strength that you need at this time..
    Susan Guptill

  11. I just knew that Kenny Chesney would respond to our messages! Thank you again for keeping this blog. I read it often and sometimes over again. My thoughts are of you all many, many times throughout the day. I love hearing about the special visitors encouraging Jessie! I’ve never been much of a prayer person, but I send messages of encouragement and love to you all and to Tim and Cheryl every day. I hope you feel it.

  12. Jessie, “Hi”, this is Cindy Valeri (Patrick and Desilee’s mom) I just wanted to leave you this note letting you know that I am praying and expecting your recovery! You and your family are never far from my heart.

  13. Dear Jessie, The prayer I hold onto and lift up to God on your behalf and your family’s behalf is Mark 11:24 which says “Whatever you ask for in prayer, believe that you have received it and it will be yours.” Keep fighting and know we’re praying hard in Ellensburg!! ~ Karen Jackson

  14. Hi Jessie,
    We are friends of Shambaughs – Megan and Evie are good friends and spend lots of time together. You and your family are in our daily thoughts and prayers. We wish the best for you all!
    Deb Zimmerman

Leave a Reply

