10pm Update

First of all, I am so sorry that I did not follow through and get a post up here last night.  There are so many of you who  have expressed that you feel like this blog is a lifeline that connects you to the kids and I know how how important these updates are to you.  I’ll keep trying to update as often as I can.  I promise!

Jaime and Steven are doing well in their recovery at the nursing facility.  Both of them do light physical therapy each day.  This mainly consists of non-weight bearing stretches and movements that they can do in their beds.  Jaime did sit up for an hour today in a special therapy chair.  I told you last week that when Jaime had her staples removed, they lost count at 200…well, Steven has kept track of his stitches and he has 166, in addition to a good number of staples that were already removed.  He should get the stitches removed in another couple of weeks. Steven and Jaime both have such great attitudes and senses of humor in the midst of this!  And, by the way – Steven wanted me to make sure to wish all of his co-workers at Microsoft a fun time at boot camp this weekend.  🙂

Jessie is getting more and more skilled at using her electric wheelchair. Today she was able to spin it in circles, and she is a pro at coaching her caretakers and nurses in how to maneuver it.  She is also learning to use a voice-activated program to access her computer and phone.  Being able to use this adaptive technology is hugely important in giving Jessie independence now and in the future.  Today she received a sweet package of artwork and encouraging notes from students at Frank Love.  She has an entire half of her room dedicated to her kids, and anyone who comes in spends lots of time admiring all of her beautiful pictures, cards and drawings. 

Jessie, Jaime and Steven are all looking forward to seeing Jeremy this weekend.  He’s coming home from Eastern for the holiday weekend. 

Thanks again to all of you for surrounding us, and especially Jessie, Jaime, Jeremy and Steven, during this time.  Each of the kids has expressed to me how blown away they are by the generosity of friends and strangers.  They know how much you love them and really appreciate that now – 3.5 weeks into this – you are still praying for them, thinking of them, sending them cards and messages, and loving them in every way that you can.  Much love to all of you, from all of us!

6 thoughts on “10pm Update

  1. Christy, you are an amazing young woman yourself. I have been thinking today of the energy it takes for you to get to the hospital, connect with the kids there and then get home to your own family and get a report out to us each day. Thank you so much for them, and may God bless you for this great kindness and expression of love for others! I am glad to hear that the Owen kids are making progress, and it is wonderful that Jeremy will come home from Eastern to spend time with his sibs.

    With my whole heart I thank you. I am planning to call their Grandma Katy this week to check on her and hope to get in a visit soon. We last got to visit at the vigil!

    Blessings, Sharon Pakkala

  2. Thank you so much for keeping this blog going. I check this blog all the time to read about each and every progress Jessie, Jamie, Jeremy, and Steven are making. It is so amazing to me, the road that they are travelling…a journey, if you will, not just for them, but for you, and every single family member, friends, and extended friends and acquaintances. I have so much appreciation for all of you and your amazing attitude, strength, and resilience. This is definitely the “winner’s” circle!

    All my love and blessings,
    Tee

  3. Thank you, Christy, for keeping us all updated. You are right that so many of us check in daily to see how the kids are doing and I want you to know how much we all appreciate the time you take to give us such quality information. “Thank You” just doesn’t seem to express our gratitude!

  4. Thanks Christy – as I said in the past you are the reason we are all staying involved. Your blog connects us to the healing that is happening daily. I may not comment every day – but I do read this daily.

  5. Christy – thank you so much for the updates. My prayers go up daily for this family – I worked with their mom and she was such a light. She and Tim will continue to shine on them while they recover. Such blessings to be surrounded by so much love and support. Sending healing wishes to all of them and thank you again for keeping us all updated on the daily miracles. 🙂

  6. Christy, you are a blessing for keeping this blog up to date. I check it every day and really appreciate any details you can provide. My family and I are keeping the Owen kids AND the extended family in our daily prayers. Thanks so much for all you are doing for all of us who “Love the Owens.”

Leave a Reply

