Peanut Sized Fun & New Digs

All three of us rolling in style

All three of us rolling in style

Jaime, Steven, and I together for the first time in almost 3 months.

Jaime, Steven, and I together for the first time in almost 3 months.

I bet you have been wondering what we have been up to lately?! It is been a busy few days for the Owen/Mayer clan. First of all, I’m out of Harbor View! Thursday afternoon I left the hospital with mixed emotions. I’m so sad to leave the wonderful care and friends that I have made. I can honestly say that some of the most genuine and tenderhearted people I have ever met in my life work there, and they have touched my heart in the most memorable way. Transitions are hard in any aspect of life, and they become especially hard when you have very little control over your body and your choices. The thing that has made me so happy is that I get to see Jaime and Steven every day. I burst through the door to see their smiling or scowling faces… Depending on whether or not they wanted me there. 🙂 I have things to get used to here, including: the nurses, the food, the new room, and my routine, amongst other things. I’m doing okay, with each day getting better than the last.

Some great news this weekend is that I got to see Jer-Bear! He graciously flew home for the weekend to make sure that he saw me, Jaimers, and Steve, while also finding time to see my uncle and aunt who are here from out of town. 18889306855211e2829522000a1fa769_6This is the first time that all four of us have been in the same room since before the accident almost 3 months ago. We had a bit of time where we all sat in a room with Benny and Toby and it was one of the most serene and happy moments that I have had. We are all very grateful to have each other.

The BIG BIG news is JaimO! For the first time she walked in her walker all by herself!  I am so proud of her!

My little peanut treat

My little peanut treat

Today she hauled her little peanut sized body in here to say hi while I was still in bed. Huffing and puffing and sore as heck, she and she was all smiles. I really want to celebrate her this evening and give her big congratulations.

this is from the other day

this is from the other day

This is a big milestone and even though I am SO NOT competitive, I’m glad that she beat me at being the first to walk.

I probably have some big news to share with you in the next day or two, so be looking closely for that. Wink wink.

Keep on keeping on, and kicking ass! Go JaimO!!WP_20130225_001 Let’s not forget the birthday girl, my wonderful other mother, Kathy! Here she is riding in style in my chair

17 thoughts on “Peanut Sized Fun & New Digs

  1. Happy birthday Kathy!
    what sweet photos. You are all progressing so well! Glad you got some family time this weekend. Jaime, way to go on the walking!!

  2. What special photos of such a special time. I’m so very proud of all of you, you are all an inspiration and a reminder to never take the little things for granted. Love you!

  3. Love the photos and your update! I’m sure it was hard to leave the people who have taken such good care of you at Harborview but thanks to this awesome blog, you will be able to keep in touch! I’m sure they will be missing you just as much if not more! It’s great that you are with Steven and Jamie! We are so PROUD of all of you and the HARD WORK you are doing. I know you will be racing Jamie down the hall in no time. Keeping you in our daily thoughts and prayers!
    Love, Zane, Jody, Jordan and Tessa

  4. I’ve been thinking of you as you transition into this next phase of your recovery…..so happy to see you approach it with the same tenacity and heart you’ve brought to it all along. Blessings to Jaime, peanut sized or not! Keep the posts coming, so great to see your pictures and your smiling face!

  5. I LOVE each and every one of you kids. I am so incredibly happy that you are all together again….even though I know…. Jess….it will be an adjustment. Such blessings in store for each of you….just wait. When I prayed this morning…I said…”Lord…I am very excited to see what plan you have for each of these kids.” Just keep loving, living, healing and enjoy each day as it comes at you. big huge hugs for all. Hope to actually get to see and hug each of you for real one of these days. (Jamie…you continue to ROCK ON…pretty soon you will be racing Jessie down the hall. ) 🙂 Geri

  6. This is fantastic news – every single day something exciting pops up – keep up the fantastic good work – you all look wonderful. Hugs to all — even the birthday girl – she’s the best!

  7. New digs Jessie?! When is the housewarming and where are you registered? A big congrats to Jaime – each of you continue to amaze us all. Love to the Owen’s!

  8. Happy Birthday Guardian Angel Mamma, Kathy!!
    Such incredible progress from a most determined, loving bunch!
    Jessie, you write like a Pulitzer Prize-winning author. Can’t wait to read your first book!
    Congrats to the Fab Four — Jer, Jess, Jaime, Steven!
    Big Hugs,
    the Beyers

  9. CONGRATS JAIME!!!! Oh my gosh that is so exciting!!! I am soooo happy for you. Jesse, congrats on your new home! And HAPPY BIRTHDAY KATHY! You guys are all so amazing and I look forward to seeing your progress everyday. Keep up the good work everyone. My thoughts and prayers are still with you everyday on this journey. I love you guys.

  10. FABULOUS!! WONDERFUL!! MARVELOUS!! And you are out of the neck brace, at least for a little bit! Doesn’t it feel grand? I sure hated mine!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Much love to all of you hiney kickers!

  11. I’m so happy for all four of you! (or should I say SIX – with Benny and Toby!) I’m sure Kathy and Aunt Terry were in 7th heaven! Love you all….

  12. SO GLAD to hear that Jaime is walking and that you all four are together in the same room!! Praise God! Jessie i’m sure with your spunk you’ll be walking in no time. So happy for all of you

  13. I have been out of the area since the holidays and just found this wonderful blog. All of your recoveries are amazing…you are teaching your doctors and everyone who checks in on you how to heal.
    I always knew that the Owens family had determination and heart…from the time I knew each of you at Skyview. I will keep checking in to watch your progress. Your family is an inspiration to all of us.
    My other thought was…who was that sitting in that wheel chair…oh…it’s Kathy Bellen…Hi Kathy and Happy Birthday…

  14. Love these pictures and especially the one with you all rolling down the hall! Must be very good to all be back together. Sounds like the three of you are making good progress. Keep up the hard work and know that we are with you all in thought and prayers.

Leave a Reply

