Spare Hour

Well, it’s been evident that I’ve been slacking on my blog posts. It’s amazing how I can think of my life and it seems like I have nothing to do and then all of a sudden my day is filled to the brim. I haven’t had one second of time to blog… Actually, that isn’t exactly true. I found and hour here and there, but have spent it playing on Facebook, stumbling on the Internet, or watching Downton Abby. If I had the opportunity I might just spend my days watching Netflix, but in all reality, I am lucky to find a spare hour. But here I am ready to give you some much needed updates.

Let me first start with an amazing gift that I received from an anonymous altruist (kids look it up, if you email me the definition then I might be able to send you a special treat). Back in February I wrote a post referencing Lance Armstrong and how I needed a new biking role model https://lovetheowens.wordpress.com/2013/02/11/jessie-jessie-jessie/. As a result I got a perfectly wrapped present with a signed Greg LeMond jersey! For those of you living in a cave he is a three-time winner of the Tour de France. Currently he is the only American to have won the tour and has contributed a number of technological advances into the cycling world, including aero handlebars and carbon fiber bicycle frames. I am so honored by this gift and I have it hanging on my wall where I can see and be inspired by every day. Thank you.Fotor0329193419

“Perseverance is not a long race; it is many short races one after another”- Walter Elliott. I could not think of a better way to describe what I believe helped me through life. All my best, Greg LeMond

Socially, I have been able to do a few more things too. I’ve gone over to a friend’s house and had a delicious homemade dinner. Dang! I miss real food! We ate, chatted, and sipped on pear cider – and said a toast to my mom.Fotor0329180946 Pear cider was her favorite and on our special mother-daughter trip to Scotland last summer we found a true love for the beverage, the country, and each other. Dinner was fun. It made me feel normal and appreciate some of the small things that I’ve missed out on.Fotor032918143

In other news, I have officially gotten my neck brace off! I think we talked about it earlier, but I hated that thing so much that it is worth another mention! Can you imagine wearing that torture device for three months? Heck no! In all honesty, I really had been taking it off quite often before the official okay. But still, it was nice to be rid of that thing.

I know we have been slacking on the blog for a bit, but I have some good news coming up in the next few days that you should be on the lookout for.

I am such a tease. 🙂

Keep on keeping on

9 thoughts on “Spare Hour

  1. What an awesome present!!! And the pics of you and your mom are so beautiful and such a gift. Was with Christy today and she updated me. Keep up the hard work!!! Love ya girl!! Prayers your way!

  2. Thanks for the update. I’ll be on the edge of my seat for your next post. 😉 I check back every day or two just to see how things are going. You are such an inspiration! Keep giving it everything! We’ll keep praying! 🙂

  3. So glad yo hear your update and am anxious to hear what the good news! How wonderful to have a special trip with your mom. Those special memories will always be with you. Jaime and Steven also shared great news. You all continue to be in my prayers. Big hugs to you!

  4. Yes Jessie you are a tease! The pictures of you and your mom on your trip are just beautiful, such treasured memories. Love the Walter Elliott quote, so true and I’m going to write that one down. Glad you found a new role model 😉

    Great news for Jaime and Steven. So glad things are progressing well and Jaime gets to go home! Thank goodness you live so close to Kindred Care. We continue to keep you all close in our thoughts and our prayers. Happy Easter to you all. Lots of love and hugs coming you way….

  5. Love your blog posts, Jessie. And by the way, you inspired me to go talk to Pushing Boundaries about doing some volunteer work for them–thank you for that! And I love the pictures you post of you and your mom.

  6. Thanks for your uplifting news. After all your hard work you certainly deserve some “normal” time. I can see Cassidy hitting the computer now to look up your secret word. Thank you, too, for sharing your special time with your Mom last summer. So glad you have those memories. Take care and keep working hard. We have much to be thankful for this Easter watching your progress. Prayers & hugs, Cecilia Sauvage (Cassidy’sgrandma)

  7. Easter is the promise, ” the end is not the end until everything is OK, if everything is not OK, it’s not the end!”. YOU are the promise of Easter to me….and I’m praying, rooting for you, overjoyed by your progress as pure inspiration. You are REMARKABLE Jessie and I will tell story after sorry of when I knew you” when”….keep on keepin’ on indeed….great things are coming….you are a difference in this world.

Leave a Reply

