My First Steps

Have I made you wait long enough?! I promise, it was worth the wait!

Most of us learn to walk only once, as babies. In fact, having to learn to walk again as an adult is so rare, I still can hardly find anything about it on the Internet. But, I have started my long process of learning to do it again now! Here is a video of me working to regain my life. My first steps…

Learning to walk from scratch has been more complex than I ever could have imagined. Try to explain it. How would you tell someone to position their hips? What is the angle at which their knee needs to rise? I think there is a reason that we learn to walk as babies, the first being that they are so small that when they fall on their butts they are far closer to the ground than I am! The second is that saves parents from the agonizing task of trying to teach something so complex. Can you imagine the fights over that one!? As you can see, this will be a lifelong journey for me, but I am so stinking excited to have started it!

“Don’t wait until everything is just right. It will  never be perfect. There will always be challenges, obstacles and less than perfect conditions. So what. Get started now. With each step you take, you will grow stronger and stronger, more and more skilled, more and more self-confident and more and more successful.” Mark Victor Hansen

Since you have been so incredibly patient with my teasing :-), I am going to include some other videos of my activities at Pushing Boundaries.

Here I am doing some squats. My hands are strapped to a bar because I still have difficulty holding on to things. Marty is not helping me go up and down,he is only keeping a close eye on my hips in case I decide to take a tumble! 🙂

These are some lunges that I am doing on a regular walker. My hands are strapped to this too

Without a struggle, there can be no progress.

Keep on keeping on!

50 thoughts on “My First Steps

  1. Amazing!!!!!Go, go, go…I know it is a difficult task but you will be walking in no time. I wish I could be there just cheering you on! So here is me saying Yay, Go Jessie, Go. Keep up the good work!

  2. OMG – Jess, just an amazing effort for you to walk…and you’re doing it! SO proud of you!
    Tough, tough job and you’re taking it all on!
    Love and Hugs!!

  3. Jessie – These videos and this post brought tears to my eyes! I am so very proud of you and as I follow your story and share it with others in my life, I am constantly telling them, you have to check this story out, this young woman, she’s amazing, and I actually know her! I hope that should anything ever happen to me and even in dealing with difficult things in my life today (though none nearly as difficult as what you and your family is going through) that I have 1/2 the grace and positive attitude that you have. You are truly an inspiration and I cannot say enough about how much your progress and your attitude has impacted me, I often feel that “if Jessie can handle what she’s going through, surely I can handle this pud!” Again, so proud of you and I can’t wait to hear more and more about how amazing you are and your family’s progress. In IIKE, Danielle Lively Neal

  4. Yahoo!!!!!!!!!!! Wow!!! So, so wonderful and awesome and exciting!! Congratulations!! Can not wait to pass this along! 🙂

  5. Jessie! You are so amazing! This was so wonderful to watch, even though my eyes are filled with happy tears! Keep on keeping on sweetie! My prayers are with you always!

  6. Wow, Jessie! Your progress is amazing. Thank you for these videos (you tease!) And thanks for that quote! I love it.

  7. “There is in every woman’s heart a spark of heavenly fire, which lies dormant in the broad daylight of prosperity; but which kindles up, and beams and blazes in the dark hour of adversity”. w. Irving 1820

    You are a witness to heavenly fire, and such a deep inspiration to the rest of us. Seeing you walk, and do squats and press forward makes me cry, makes me smile, and makes me re-evaluate my own weak excuses about exercise. Love you little girl! GO! GO! GO!

  8. Amazing! I will keep praying that you will fully walk one day without the aid of a walker! You are amazing! Never give up, keep on going!

  9. JESSIE!! You are amazing!! Watching the determination on your face is just the most inspiring thing!! You are making such progress so quickly (I’m sure it doesn’t seem quick enough for you!)

    We are so proud of you!
    Zane and Jody

  10. That-a-way, Jessie! You are an amazingly strong and positive young woman and I am thrilled to see these encouraging results. We are all cheering for you tonight in the Wetterauer house!

  11. Awwwww…..Jessie… You are such an inspiration to so many. I hope you realize that you are a very very special young woman. You kids made your parents so very proud. 🙂 hugs and love and prayers. 🙂 Geri

  12. Amazing!!!i knew u can do this!!!keep going and going…gosh these videos make cry more! I cant wait to see the next trick. Keep it up Jessie!

  13. You are astounding – great hard work. I can see your Mother’s determination in your face. I know they are both so very proud of you.

  14. This is so wonderful to watch. You are doing this for all of those that coukd not. Such as my sister in law Holly. She was paralyzed from the neck down at 13. Thank you for all your hard work. God bless!!! Keep on keeping on.

  15. Way to go Jessie! These video’s were so awesome to watch, Thanks so much for sharing with us. You are amazing and such an inspiration to all of us. Keep up all the hard work and determination!! Hugs and prayers goes out to all of you

  16. OMG Jessie, these videos are so incredible. You look great! The focus it must take to “relearn/train” I couldn’t even imagine, oh what we take for granted. As you say “keep on keeping on”. Your all in our prayers.

  17. Tears of joy! No stopping you Jessie; you my friend are simply amazing. And from your first grade teacher and friend, remember the tortoise… You will win the race:)
    Lori S.

  18. Yeah!!!!! Madi, Keegan, and I just watched your videos together and enjoyed them so much. Keegan was cheering for you as Madi is smiling from ear to ear. For sure worth the wait! Great job!!

  19. Amazing! Really amazing to see you on your feet and doing those exercises. When I first met you, you were scared it might take much longer to even attempt stuff like this.

  20. When I watched this I cried tears of joy! You go girl! You have made such incredible progress in less than four months. You are so amazing and such an inspiration! Prayers are being answered.

  21. You rock Jessie! I have had my young daughters watch ever step of your battle to recover and they are so inspired by your fight. When things in their life seem hard they will often say “well just think how hard it is for Jessie. She’s doing something waaay harder and if she can do what she’s doing then this (whatever it may be at the time) is nothing!” Keep inspiring us by doing just what you’re doing!

  22. Jessie,
    Last year, we learned first-hand what a great teacher you are. Now, you are teaching us more about grace and perseverance than you will ever know.

  23. These videos are TOO COOL!! So amazingly wonderful to see you walk and do the squats and lunges!! I’m so happy for you! (Julie Noyes’s mom)

  24. Jessie, You are amazing. Thank you for sharing your incredible progress. Love that you are doing squats and with perfect form at that….! Nice work.

  25. Thank you for sharing! Seeing your videos made me so happy. Keep doing what you are doing and keep up the AWESOME work!

  26. Your heart and determination are helping you to heal faster than anyone thought was possible. By watching you other people can learn what it takes to overcome things they think are impossible.
    I am anxious to see what you are doing in a few weeks. You are truly amazing…

  27. SO proud of you Jessie (&ALL the clan). Myself & the extended family think of you, celebrate you, & pray for you daily. You all are the epitome of the Human Spirit! Big Hugs & Love
    Dre Samilton et al 😉

  28. Keep it Up Jessie! Can’t wait to see you do the Macarena!!!!
    We’re all cheering for you here!
    XOXO Melissa Flores

  29. Jessie, The Yakima Herald had your story by Alexa Vaughn from the Seattle Times printed in today’s paper. I loved reading it even though I had read the Times article. I know you are staying the course. You are amazing girl! As you say, “keep on keeping on.”

Leave a Reply

