Big ole grapefruits no more!

Many of you have heard some rumors, or had some questions about what has been going on lately! Rightfully so πŸ™‚

My siblings are chugging along with school and work. All of them doing very well, and making their big sister very proud!

I had initially planned on returning to school this January. Unfortunately, I did not quite make the deadline. I was really very upset at first, I was looking forward to it so very much. I love my job, I love working with kids, not only teaching them reading, writing, and math, but also life skills. Many students don’t get the opportunity to learn the appropriate way to fix the mistake! When you’re 12 years old, you are supposed to be making mistakes, or you are not growing up right! However, there is an appropriate way to handle it. “I’m sorry, I messed up, I made a mistake, how can I make this right?” Teaching kids how to do this is one of my favorite things about my job, so of course I was disappointed when I knew I wasn’t ready to come back.

One of the reasons I wasn’t ready was because of my knees. I don’t think the doctors

Knees- yikes!

Knees- yikes!

anticipated on me walking as much as I was doing. After the accident, we realized that my knees were very messed up, for lack of a better word. I was missing three ligaments on my right one, one on my left, my meniscus, patella, popliteus muscle all in need of repair.

Since the doctors didn’t anticipate my walking, we didn’t do a lot about it.photo(25) When I first started walking, we put a brace on to help support, and that did the job in the beginning. However, in the last few months I’ve worked very hard to walk just about everywhere. It is slow, pretty wobbly, and I need a walker or crutches, but I was doing it! As a result, I pretty much destroyed whatever was left of my knees. Walking became challenging, pretty painful, and my knees looked more like grapefruits.

So I found a wonderful surgeon who came up with a great game plan to get me some new knees.

Wwweeeeeeeeeeee

Wwweeeeeeeeeeee

The unfortunate part was that for about six weeks I needed to keep my legs straight out, no bending. For eight weeks, no weight bearing… Meaning no walking or standing whatsoever! And probably no real walking until about 12 weeks out.

I live with one of my really good friends in an adorable one-story house. However, this house has no way to accommodate my monstrous legs sticking straight out from a wheelchair!

Notice the wedge of bone that they took out of both of my knees.  in the long run, it will provide more stability.

Notice the wedge of bone that they took out of both of my knees. in the long run, it will provide more stability.

So, I am back at a nursing facility until I am able to weight bear for a bit. It is frustrating to be back here, but I am so looking forward to what my new legs have in store for me. Plus, it gives me plenty of time to work on my hands, and in being honest with you; they still need a whole lot of work. Functionality is still an issue.

So, I am in here on lockdown for a few weeks, doing my best to be super cheery and not let the hospital atmosphere take me downphoto(28). I tell you what, getting to know some of the older people are hysterical! Absolutely one of the brightest points my day! So as of now, I am just keeping on, keeping on.

Oh yes, about that Christmas card. Most definitely, still on its way πŸ™‚ I thought about writing it while I was high on painkillers, but I was advised against it. Should get there sometime before summer though! πŸ™‚

Also, I want to give a big shout out to my little brother Jer Bear who turned 23 yesterday! I could not be more proud of the man he has become. He is the man who makes toasts at the head of the table, the one who gives his all no matter what he is doing, and his most special gift is making you feel like the most important person in the world when you are with him. You meet him once, I promise you will remember you, your favorite color, and who all your close friends of. I am so very proud!Image(1)

14 thoughts on “Big ole grapefruits no more!

  1. Thank you for the update Jess, I’ve been wondering how you all are doing. Wow, you had to have been in a lot of pain, those knees looked bad! Now you have the surgery behind you and your on your way to recovery so I can only imagine what you’ll be doing once your back up and walking. Old people have great stories, enjoy! Take care and “keep on Keeping on”.
    Love,
    Patty O

  2. Jessie, I was just thinking of you on Monday. Thanks for providing the update. You have been on such a hard journey, filled, of course, with blessings, but HARD! None the less. I am confident that when your knees heal you will be up and walkin’…..love them into that…as in, do what your Dr says and know you are loving a very specific part of your body that won’t let you down if you give them the time, care and attention they need to heal. Bottom line….LOVE your knees. NSD will be here when you can return, your classroom will too, and we will benefit mightily from your spirit, tenacity, strength, and heart, times ten. Wish I could wrap my arms around you and whisper, “YOU ARE AMAZIng, and GOD is working thru you”…because he is…..much love, Kathleen

  3. Hi Jessie, You’re a fighter, no doubt. Setbacks are disappointing, but you continue to inspire many people of all walks of life and build a great testimony on so many levels. Your story counts. You count. Those knees will work before you know it. Someday, I hope you come ride my horses and let it be a symbol that you’re really moving on. Love you! ~ Karen

  4. Oh my gosh woman….Those knees will be so happy when they get fixed. HAPPY I say!! πŸ™‚ happy birthday to brother jeremy. Love and hugs. πŸ™‚ oh..and since you can’t move ..that means you can write daily updates with pics!! Yay! I’ve missed those updates. πŸ™‚

  5. OH I FEEL BAD ABOUT YOUR KNEES AND HOPE YOU WILL HEAL FAST. I AM GLAD JEREMY AND THE REST ARE DOING OK. I WILL PRAY FOR YOU SO IT MIGHT HELP TO SPEED THE RECOVERY. THANKS FOR LETTING US NOW ABOUT YOUR KNEES. TAKE IT EASY AND MIND YOUR DOC’S. MARY W

  6. Hey Jessie – we are so amazed at all the energy and fantastic spirit you have – thank you for sharing – best wishes always to all of you. We love you all!

  7. Thank you so much for the update, Jessie. This must feel like a set-back to you but it is such a step forward – literally! Congratulations on how far you have come and I can’t wait to see you up and around again. Rock on!

  8. I’m glad you did an update. I was asking Lori Debardi about how you were. Glad you are on the mend and I hope you continue to stay strong. You are an inspiration for me. .

  9. Hi Jessie! I just wanted to let you know I’m thinking of you and your family – for Valentine’s Day and EVERY day. Keep up the positive spirit and good luck with your knee surgery recovery. You continue to amaze me. I love you! Betsy

  10. I (and when I say I, I really mean all of your friends and kiddos at school) was totally bummed when Jen said you would be having knee surgery Jan. 9th and would likely not be returning to school this year. We miss you and are anxious for you to be back in the fold. However, I know knee surgery is important for you to achieve your goals, so just know you are with us each day in our thoughts and prayers. Please do not hesitate to let me know if there is anything you need, would like or anything I can do to support you. I know I speak for all your friends at FL, we’re just a call away if you want the troops to rally. You inspire each of us and we love hearing about your progress.
    Hugs to you,

    Renee

  11. Somehow I wasn’t getting your updates so now I feel like i am up-to-date! We are still thinking of you and keeping you in our prayers as you continue to take this one day at a time! Hope to see you in Vegas on May 10?!

Leave a Reply

